Welcome to an in-depth exploration of the drone laws in Wyoming, where we take flight into the regulatory skies governing unmanned aircraft systems (UAS).
Ensuring safe and lawful flying requires a thorough understanding of the complex web of federal, state, and local drone laws. Whether you’re a hobbyist capturing awe-inspiring aerial footage or a commercial operator utilizing drones for diverse applications, you need a solid grasp of Wyoming’s specific regulations.
Can You Fly a Drone in Wyoming?
Yes, you can fly a drone in Wyoming. Drone use is allowed for commercial and recreational use as long as you follow all federal, state, and local drone laws.
- Can You Fly a Drone in Wyoming?
- Federal Drone Laws in Wyoming
- State Drone Laws in Wyoming
- Local Drone Laws in Wyoming
- Penalties for Violating Drone Laws in Wyoming
- FAQs About Drone Laws in Wyoming
Federal Drone Laws in Wyoming
Drone pilots in Wyoming must follow federal regulations set by the FAA, including Part 107 rules for agency pilots and recreational drone registration requirements.
Commercial Drone Use
To operate a drone commercially, or for business use, in Wyoming, you must:
Recreational Drone Flying
Hobbyist drone operators flying a drone for fun must adhere to the following federal drone laws:
- Pass The Recreational UAS Safety Test (TRUST)
- Follow CBO safety guidelines for drone operation, including flying under 400 feet
- Do not fly in restricted areas, including near airports or prisons
Government Employee Drone Operation
Note: This content is accurate up to the date it was last updated, and drone regulations in Wyoming can change over time. This is not meant to take the place of legal counsel.
State Drone Laws in Wyoming
State drone laws apply to the entire state of Wyoming. Drone operators must follow state drone laws in addition to the federal ones. Created by the Wyoming Legislature and the Wyoming Department of Transportation, the state drone law in Wyoming is:
- SF 170 // 2017: According to this law, the Wyoming Aeronautics Commission must create regulations for UAS takeoff and landing areas.
- The commission can also create drone laws for the state and local areas.
- The commission cannot regulate UAS in navigable airspace
- It’s illegal to land a UAS on private property
- UAS operators can launch, land, and operate a drone over their own property
- HB0128 defines trespassing by drone is flying 200 feet or lower over private property without prior approval.
Local Drone Laws in Wyoming
Local municipalities can also enact drone laws for their city, county, or region within a state. We were unable to find specific local drone laws in Wyoming. Be sure to check with your jurisdiction before operating a drone.
Penalties for Violating Drone Laws in Wyoming
Drone law violations can come with serious penalties. Violating a drone law in Wyoming may result in civil/criminal charges, fines, drone confiscation, and even jail time.
For example, trespassing by drone, as defined by HB0128 is a misdemeanor in Wyoming. Punishment can include a fine of up to $750 and/or up to six months in jail.
FAQs About Drone Laws in Wyoming
Can I fly a drone over private property in Wyoming?
Yes, you can fly a drone over private property in Wyoming, but only if you fly over 200 feet in the air and do not land the drone on their private property.
Do I need a license to fly a drone in Wyoming?
You do not need a drone license to fly a drone for recreational purposes, however you need a Remote Pilot Certificate from the FAA to fly a drone commercially in Wyoming.
Can I fly a drone in the Grand Tetons in Wyoming?
No, according to national park rules, you cannot operate, launch, or land a drone in Grand Tetons National Park.